Using a Digest

Your administrator may have created policies to ensure that messages containing possible junk, spam content or specific attachments are not delivered directly to your inbox. Instead, they are held in a quarantine area, called the hold queue.

You can view and control these messages without having to contact your administrator, by using the automated digest sent to your inbox. The frequency of the digest’s delivery is controlled by your company’s administrator.

The digest is a summary of your messages in the hold queue, and looks similar to the one below:












Digest Actions

The digest contains a number of actions available via links. These can be used to ensure messages which are business related are not missed and can be released to your inbox. You can either click on one of the links (discussed below) or ignore the digest if there are no emails that you are interested in. You can also control your mailbox by ensuring that emails from senders that you’d like to receive are allowed through, and those which you don’t wish to receive are blocked for future delivery.

Action Email Delivery Future Messages
Release Releases the message from the hold queue and immediately delivers it to your inbox. Messages from this sender may still be sent to the hold queue, depending on your administrator’s policies and the message’s content.
Block Removes the message from the hold queue but doesn’t deliver the message to your inbox. Messages from this sender will be immediately blocked rejected, and will not be delivered to your inbox.
Permit Releases the message from the hold queue, and immediately delivers it to your Inbox Messages from this sender will bypass all spam checks, and will be delivered to your inbox provided it passes virus scanning, content, and attachment policies.

Each message in the list should be actioned individually  If there are no new messages in your hold queue, you’ll not receive a digest notification. If no action is chosen, you will not be reminded about these particular emails again, and the email will expire from the hold queue after a maximum of 14 days. This email can then be retrieved from your personal email archive.